Skip to main content

FACULTY & STAFF

Full-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Office Staff
Specialties
Alvord-Scott-1608-76-004.jpg

Scott Alvord

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7546
3162 JFSB
scott_alvord@byu.edu
Andrade-Patricia-.25mp.jpg

Patrícia Baialuna de Andrade

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1440
3145 JFSB
patricia_andrade@byu.edu
Barbara Bonyata

Barbara Bonyata

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6402
3075 JFSB
barbara_bonyata@byu.edu
Will Carr

Will Carr

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-5262
3144 JFSB
will_carr@byu.edu

Michael Child

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2496
3161 JFSB
michael_child@byu.edu
Willis Fails

Willis Fails

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3452
3167 JFSB
willis_fails@byu.edu
Garci¦üa-Mara-1609-91-3-.jpg

Mara García

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3106
3150 JFSB
mara_garcia@byu.edu
Daryl Hague

Daryl Hague

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2005
3163 JFSB
daryl_hague@byu.edu
Halling-Anna-Lisa-1608-76-002-1.jpg

Anna-Lisa Halling

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1759
3181 JFSB
anna-lisa_halling@byu.edu
Hegstrom-Valerie-1608-76-009.jpg

Valerie Hegstrom

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3191
3148 JFSB
valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu
Hidalgo Nava, Tomas 2022-7.jpg

Tomás Hidalgo Nava

Assistant Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7221
3168 JFSB
tomas_hidalgo@byu.edu
Jones_ Jordan headshot 2021-8.jpg

Jordan Jones

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3252
3151 JFSB
jordan_jones@byu.edu
Nieves Knapp

Nieves Knapp

Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3196
3171 JFSB
nieves_knapp@byu.edu
Philosophy
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3807
4086A JFSB
david_laraway@byu.edu
Larson-Erik-1609-91-3-1-1.jpg

Erik Larson

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1726
3160 JFSB
erik_larson@byu.edu

Samuel López

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4314
3146 JFSB
samuel_lopez@byu.edu

Rob Martinsen

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8466
3143 JFSB
rob.martinsen@byu.edu

Cherice Montgomery

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3465
3177 JFSB
cherice_montgomery@byu.edu

Rex Nielson

Humanities Center Director
Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2176
3149 JFSB
rex_nielson@byu.edu

Desirée Oliveira

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1727
3157 JFSB
desiree.oliveira@byu.edu

Elsa Pérez

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6402
3075 JFSB
elsa_perez@byu.edu
Pratt-Dale-J.-1609-91-4-1-1.jpg

Dale Pratt

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3188
3147 JFSB
dale_pratt@byu.edu

Brian Price

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3453
3158 JFSB
brian_price@byu.edu
Price_ Jacob 2109-53 Portrait 03.jpg

Jacob Price

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3479
3164 JFSB
jacobgp@byu.edu
Smead-Rob-1609-91-1-.jpg

Rob Smead

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2636
3153 JFSB
rob_smead@byu.edu

Alvin F. Sherman

University Leadership
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3107
3165 JFSB
alvin_sherman@byu.edu
Stallings-Gregory-1609-91-8-.jpg

Gregory Stallings

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1273
3166 JFSB
gregory_stallings@byu.edu

Robert Strong

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1957
3175 JFSB
robert.strong@byu.edu

Greg Thompson

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2282
3173 JFSB
gregory_thompson@byu.edu
Lauren Truman

Lauren Truman

Assistant Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3124
3155 JFSB
lauren_truman@byu.edu

Jeff Turley

Department Chair
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7019
3190B JFSB
jeffrey_turley@byu.edu

Doug Weatherford

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4941
3169 JFSB
douglas_weatherford@byu.edu

Lynn Williams

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3273
3179 JFSB
lynn_williams@byu.edu

Mac Wilson

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3964
3142 JFSB
mac_wilson@byu.edu
Alder, Erik_Portrait.PNG

Erik Alder

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4028 JKB
erik_alder@byu.edu
Blackwell-Lily-1609-91-3-.jpg

Lily Blackwell

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1492
3005B JKB
lm33@byu.edu
John Chaston

John Chaston

Part-time/Adjunct
Spanish & Portuguese
John_ChastonSR@byu.edu
Cowley-Cristina-1609-91-3-1-1.jpg

Cristina Cowley

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese, Center for Language Studies, Language Studies Faculty
(801) 422-4924
3005M JKB
cristina_cowley@byu.edu
Davies-Kathy-1609-91-6-1.jpg

Kathy Davies

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8326
3005F JKB
kathy_davies@byu.edu
Jacqueline Deaton

Jacqueline Deaton

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6202
3005E JKB
jdeaton@byu.edu

Rachel Eaton

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
rmeaton1216@gmail.com

Simone Fails

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6202
4032 JKB
ssc37@byu.edu

Ariel Ferrin

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
344 Salt Lake Center
ariel_ferrin@byu.edu
Yira-Hernandez.jpg

Yira Pena De Hernandez

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8469
3005G JKB
yira_hernandez@byu.edu
Homolka-Sonia-1608-76-006-1.jpg

Sonia Homolka

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese, Center for Language Studies
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
sonia_homolka@byu.edu

Ben Jorgensen

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4022 JKB
jorgensenbyu206@gmail.com

Rebeca Lindheimer

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8471
3005J JKB
rebeca.lindheimer@byu.edu
Tanner-Linton.jpg

Tanner Linton

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-9134
4009 JKB
tanner_linton@byu.edu
Madrigal, Ana Victoria_Portrait.jpg

Ana Victoria Madrigal

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3455
3005C JKB
anavictoria_madrigal@byu.edu
McLane-Rubia-1609-91-8-1-1.jpg

Rubia McLane

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
rubia_mclane@byu.edu

Anne Mella

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2367
3009 A/B JKB Spanish Writing Lab
annemella@byu.edu
Melo, Cesar.jpg

César Melo

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4028 JKB
cesar.melo@byu.edu

Brigitte Morales

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1584
4007 JKB
brigitte.morales@byu.edu
Morales-Roberto-1608-76-001-1.jpg

José Morales

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1584
4007 JKB
moralero@byu.edu

Annalyn Osborn

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
Mariachi Band Director
(801) 422-8326
3005F JKB
annalyn_osborn@byu.edu
Pradera-Liege-1608-76-009-1.jpg

Liége Pradera

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4924
3005M JKB
liege_pradera@byu.edu
Iris-Prescott.jpg

Iris Prescott

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
3005B/4028 JKB
iris_prescott@byu.edu
Reyes-Oriana-1708-89-013.jpg

Oriana Reyes

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
3009 A/B JKB Spanish Writing Lab
oar@byu.edu
Yvette-Rivera.png

Yvette Rivera

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1275
3005E JKB
yvette_rivera@byu.edu
Abel-Javier-Romo.jpg

Javier Romo

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-9134
4009 JKB
javier_romo@byu.edu
Sandholtz, Carrie 1810-47 01.jpg

Carrie Sandholtz

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8469
3005G JKB
carrie.sandholtz@byu.edu

Gloria Stallings

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1275
3005E JKB
gloria_stallings@byu.edu
Ventura-Berenice-1702-37-01.jpg

Berenice Ventura Fernandez

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2367
3005E JKB
berenice_ventura@byu.edu

Rubén Vergaray

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish and Portuguese
(801) 422-4208
4030 JKB
rubenvergaray@byu.edu
Gina-Villalobos.jpg

Gina Villalobos

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
gina_villalobos@byu.edu
Villarreal-Lucia-1609-91-10-1.jpg

Lucía Villarreal

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3455
3005C JKB
lucia_villarreal@byu.edu

David Wiseman

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4208
4030 JKB
david_wiseman@byu.edu

Linda Chaston

Department Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2838
3190 JFSB
linda_chaston@byu.edu
Ames, Merrie Kay_Portrait_2021-10-29.jpg

Merrie Kay Ames

Graduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2196
3190 JFSB
merrie_kay@byu.edu
2209-08 Welling, Orion 06 (3).jpg

Orion Welling

Internship Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-5367
3190 JFSB
spanport_internship@byu.edu
Megan Johnson Portrait

Mandy Jackson

Undergraduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2837
3190 JFSB
span-port@byu.edu
Menjivar, Sammy_Portrait.jpg

Sammy Menjivar

Undergraduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2837
3190 JFSB
span-port@byu.edu