Skip to main content

FACULTY & STAFF

Full-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Office Staff
Specialties

Scott Alvord

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7546
3162 JFSB
scott_alvord@byu.edu

Patrícia Baialuna de Andrade

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1440
3145 JFSB
patricia_andrade@byu.edu
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1727
3157 JFSB
blair_bateman@byu.edu

Barbara Bonyata

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6402
3075 JFSB
barbara_bonyata@byu.edu

Will Carr

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-5262
3144 JFSB
will_carr@byu.edu

Michael Child

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2496
3161 JFSB
michael_child@byu.edu

Willis Fails

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3452
3167 JFSB
willis_fails@byu.edu

Mara García

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3106
3150 JFSB
mara_garcia@byu.edu

Daryl Hague

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2005
3163 JFSB
daryl_hague@byu.edu

Anna-Lisa Halling

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1759
3181 JFSB
anna-lisa_halling@byu.edu

Valerie Hegstrom

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3191
3148 JFSB
valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Tomás Hidalgo Nava

Assistant Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7221
3168 JFSB
tomas_hidalgo@byu.edu

Jordan Jones

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3252
3151 JFSB
jordan_jones@byu.edu

Nieves Knapp

Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3196
3171 JFSB
nieves_knapp@byu.edu

David Laraway

Department Chair
Philosophy
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3807
4086A JFSB
david_laraway@byu.edu

Erik Larson

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1726
3160 JFSB
erik_larson@byu.edu

Samuel López

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4314
3146 JFSB
samuel_lopez@byu.edu

Rob Martinsen

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8466
3143 JFSB
rob.martinsen@byu.edu

Cherice Montgomery

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3465
3177 JFSB
cherice_montgomery@byu.edu

Rex Nielson

Humanities Center Director
Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2176
3149 JFSB
rex_nielson@byu.edu

Elsa Pérez

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6402
3075 JFSB
elsa_perez@byu.edu

Dale Pratt

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3188
3147 JFSB
dale_pratt@byu.edu

Brian Price

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3453
3158 JFSB
brian_price@byu.edu

Jacob Price

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3479
3164 JFSB
jacobgp@byu.edu

Rob Smead

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2636
3153 JFSB
rob_smead@byu.edu

Alvin F. Sherman

University Leadership
Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3107
3165 JFSB
alvin_sherman@byu.edu

Gregory Stallings

Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1273
3166 JFSB
gregory_stallings@byu.edu

Robert Strong

Visiting Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1957
3175 JFSB
robert.strong@byu.edu

Greg Thompson

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2282
3173 JFSB
gregory_thompson@byu.edu

Lauren Truman

Assistant Teaching Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3124
3155 JFSB
lauren_truman@byu.edu

Jeff Turley

Department Chair
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7019
3190B JFSB
jeffrey_turley@byu.edu

Doug Weatherford

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4941
3169 JFSB
douglas_weatherford@byu.edu

Lynn Williams

Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3273
3179 JFSB
lynn_williams@byu.edu

Mac Wilson

Assistant Professor
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3964
3142 JFSB
mac_wilson@byu.edu

Erik Alder

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4028 JKB
erik_alder@byu.edu

Lily Blackwell

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1492
3005B JKB
lm33@byu.edu

Cristina Cowley

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese, Center for Language Studies, Language Studies Faculty
(801) 422-4924
3005M JKB
cristina_cowley@byu.edu

Kathy Davies

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8326
3005F JKB
kathy_davies@byu.edu

Jacqueline Deaton

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6202
3005E JKB
jdeaton@byu.edu

Simone Fails

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-6202
4032 JKB
ssc37@byu.edu

Ariel Ferrin

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
344 Salt Lake Center
ariel_ferrin@byu.edu

Yira Pena De Hernandez

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8469
3005G JKB
yira_hernandez@byu.edu

Sonia Homolka

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese, Center for Language Studies
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
sonia_homolka@byu.edu

Ben Jorgensen

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4022 JKB
jorgensenbyu206@gmail.com

Rebeca Lindheimer

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8471
3005J JKB
rebeca.lindheimer@byu.edu

Tanner Linton

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-9134
4009 JKB
tanner_linton@byu.edu
Madrigal, Ana Victoria_Portrait.jpg

Ana Victoria Madrigal

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3455
3005C JKB
anavictoria_madrigal@byu.edu

Rubia McLane

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
rubia_mclane@byu.edu

Anne Mella

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2367
3009 A/B JKB Spanish Writing Lab
annemella@byu.edu

César Melo

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-7328
4028 JKB
cesar.melo@byu.edu

Brigitte Morales

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1584
4007 JKB
brigitte.morales@byu.edu

José Morales

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1584
4007 JKB
moralero@byu.edu

Annalyn Osborn

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
Mariachi Band Director
(801) 422-8326
3005F JKB
annalynosborn@gmail.com

Liége Pradera

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4924
3005M JKB
liege_pradera@byu.edu

Iris Prescott

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1492
(801) 422-7328
3005B/4028 JKB
prescottiris@gmail.com

Oriana Reyes

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
3009 A/B JKB Spanish Writing Lab
oar@byu.edu

Yvette Rivera

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1275
3005E JKB
orientadorayr@gmail.com

Javier Romo

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-9134
4009 JKB
javierrg@rocketmail.com

Carrie Sandholtz

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-8469
3005G JKB
carriesandholtz@byu.edu

Gloria Stallings

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1275
3005E JKB
gloriastallings@gmail.com

Berenice Ventura Fernandez

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish and Portuguese

3005A JKB
Provo, UT 84602

Rubén Vergaray

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish and Portuguese
(801) 422-4208
4030 JKB
rubenvergaray1@gmail.com

Gina Villalobos

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-1303
4022 JKB
ginavillalobos3@gmail.com

Lucía Villarreal

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-3455
3005C JKB
lunali2000@gmail.com

David Wiseman

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-4208
4030 JKB
davidpatrickwiseman@gmail.com

Linda Chaston

Department Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2838
3190 JFSB
linda_chaston@byu.edu

Merrie Kay Ames

Graduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2196
3190 JFSB
merrie_kay@byu.edu
Guerrette, Emilee_Portrait.jpg

Emilee Guerrette

Internship Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-5367
3190 JFSB
spanport_internship@byu.edu
Megan Johnson Portrait

Megan Johnson

Undergraduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2837
3190 JFSB
span-port@byu.edu
Menjivar, Sammy_Portrait.jpg

Sammy Menjivar

Undergraduate Secretary
Spanish & Portuguese
(801) 422-2837
3190 JFSB
span-port@byu.edu